

WORLD EARTH DAY: 2025



"Our Power, Our Planet"

Inauguration of the programme by:



Prof. Dipak Kumar Kar Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor Vidyasagar University



Speakers:



Dr. Kalyan Rudra Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board



Dr. Asok Kanti Sanyal Former Chairman, West Bengal Biodiversity Board



Prof. Ramkrishna Maiti Dept. of Geography Vidyasagar University

Organized by
Centre for Environmental Studies
Vidyasagar University

[Date: 22nd April, 2025 Time: 12.00 PM]



Programme

ON

WORLD EARTH DAY "Our Power. Our Planet."

Organised by

Centre for Environmental Studies

Vidyasagar University, Midnapore, West Bengal

22nd April, 2025; Time: 12:00 PM -05:00 PM Venue: A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Savakaksha, Vidyasagar University

Schedule of the Programme

Inaugural Session: 12.00 pm – 01.00 pm

12.00 pm: Welcome Address: **Dr. Jatisankar Bandyopadhyay**, Director, Centre for Environmental Studies.

12.05 pm: Inauguration of the Programme and Inaugural address **Prof. Dipak Kumar Kar,** Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor, Vidyasagar University

12.30 pm: Address by Prof. Paresh Chandra Jana, Dean (Actg.), Science, Vidyasagar University

12.40 pm: Address by **Prof. Arindam Gupta**, Dean (Actg.), Arts and Commerce, Vidyasagar University

12.50 pm: Special Comments by **Prof. Joyjit Ghosh,** Department of English Literature, Language and Cultural Studies, Vidyasagar University.

12.55 pm: Vote of Thanks: Dr. Jayanta Kishore Nandi, Registrar, Vidyasagar University

Tea-Break

Academic Session: 02.00 PM - 05.00 PM

Chairman: Prof. Prakash Karmakar, Department of Botany and Forestry, Vidyasagar University

Co-Chairman: Dr. Nirmal Kumar Mahato, Deputy Director, Centre for Environmental Studies.

02.00pm -03.00pm

01.30pm -02.00pm

Speaker: Dr. Kalyan Rudra, Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board.

03.00pm -04.00pm

Speaker: Dr. Asok Kanti Sanyal, Former Chairman, West Bengal Biodiversity Board.

04.00pm -05.00 pm

Speaker: Prof. Ramkrishna Maiti, Professor, Department of Geography, Vidyasagar University.

Program Co-ordinator: Dr. Jatisankar Bandyopadhyay, Director, Centre for Environmental Studies.